Initial Notice

Main Content
Date of Notice: 
Monday, November 21, 2005

Billing Code 9110-10-P


Federal Emergency Management Agency


North Dakota; Major Disaster and Related Determinations

AGENCY: Federal Emergency Management Agency, Department of Homeland Security.

ACTION: Notice.

SUMMARY: This is a notice of the Presidential declaration of a major disaster for the State of North Dakota (FEMA-1616-DR), dated November 21, 2005, and related determinations.

EFFECTIVE DATE: November 21, 2005.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Magda Ruiz, Recovery Division, Federal Emergency Manage¬ment Agency, Washington,
DC 20472, (202) 646-2705.

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION: Notice is hereby given that, in a letter dated November 21, 2005, the President declared a major disaster under the authority of the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act, 42 U.S.C. 5121-5206 (the Stafford Act), as follows:

I have determined that the damage in certain areas of the State of North Dakota resulting from a severe winter storm and record and near-record snow from October 4-6, 2005, is of sufficient severity and magnitude to warrant a major disaster declaration under the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act, 42 U.S.C. §§ 5121-5206 (the Stafford Act). Therefore, I declare that such a major disaster exists in the State of North Dakota.

In order to provide Federal assistance, you are hereby authorized to allocate from funds available for these purposes such amounts as you find necessary for Federal disaster assistance and administrative expenses.

You are authorized to provide all categories of Public Assistance in the designated areas, emergency assistance (Public Assistance Category B, emergency protective measures for a period of 48 hours in those areas designated for snow removal assistance), Hazard Mitigation throughout the State, and any other forms of assistance under the Stafford Act you may deem appropriate. Consistent with the requirement that Federal assistance be supplemental, any Federal funds provided under the Stafford Act for Public Assistance and Hazard Mitigation will be limited to 75 percent of the total eligible costs. If Other Needs Assistance under Section 408 of the Stafford Act is later requested and warranted, Federal funding under that program will also be limited to 75 percent of the total eligible costs.

Further, you are authorized to make changes to this declaration to the extent allowable under the Stafford Act.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) hereby gives notice that pursuant to the authority vested in the Acting Director, under Executive Order 12148, as amended, Thomas J. Costello, of FEMA is appointed to act as the Federal Coordinating Officer for this declared disaster.

I do hereby determine the following areas of the State of North Dakota to have been affected adversely by this declared major disaster:

The counties of Benson, Billings, Bottineau, Bowman, Burke, Dunn, Golden Valley, McHenry, McKenzie, McLean, Mercer, Oliver, Pierce, Renville, Rolette, Sheridan, Stark, Towner, and Ward and the Fort Berthold Indian Reservation for Public Assistance.

The counties of Billings, Bowman, Burke, Dunn, Golden Valley, McKenzie, Morton, Mountrail, Stark, Ward, and Williams for snow removal and emergency protective measures (Category B) under the Public Assistance program for a period of 48 hours.

All counties and tribal reservations within the State of North Dakota are eligible to apply for assistance under the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program.

(The following Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance Numbers (CFDA) are to be used for reporting and drawing funds: 97.030, Community Disaster Loans; 97.031, Cora Brown Fund Program; 97.032, Crisis Counseling; 9...

Last Updated: 
07/17/2012 - 00:08
Back to Top