Massachusetts Severe Storms and Flooding (DR-1614)

Incident period: October 7, 2005 to October 16, 2005
Major Disaster Declaration declared on November 10, 2005

Updates and Articles, Blogs, and News Releases

November 11, 2005
News Release
MERRIMACK , N.H. -- A toll-free telephone registration line has been opened for residents and business- owners in nine Massachusetts counties who suffered damage or losses from the severe storms and flooding which occurred Oct. 7-16, to apply for state and federal disaster assistance. President George W. Bush declared a major disaster for Berkshire, Bristol , Franklin , Hampden, Hampshire, Middlesex, Norfolk , Plymouth and Worcester counties November 10.
November 11, 2005
News Release
Washington, DC - The head of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security?s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today that President Bush has ordered federal aid to supplement the Commonwealth of Massachusetts and local recovery efforts in the area struck by severe storms and flooding on October 7 ? 16, 2005. Acting FEMA Director R. David Paulison said the President?s action makes federal funding available to affected individuals in the counties of Berkshire, Bristol, Franklin, Hampden, Hampshire, Middlesex, Norfolk, Plymouth and Worcester.


Main Content

State/Tribal Government: 
Back to Top