Florida Hurricane Wilma (DR-1609)

Incident period: October 23, 2005 to November 18, 2005
Major Disaster Declaration declared on October 24, 2005

Updates and Articles, Blogs, and News Releases

October 26, 2005
News Release
ORLANDO, Fla. -- Federal disaster assistance for eligible individuals and business owners with damage caused by Hurricane Wilma has been expanded to include residents of Glades, Hendry, Martin and St. Lucie counties, according to the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).
October 25, 2005
News Release
ORLANDO, Fla. -- Benefiting from a partnership built on the lessons of Hurricane Andrew - and strengthened through eight hurricanes in Florida over the course of 14 months - the State Emergency Response Team (SERT) and FEMA officials' joint Wilma Command at the State Emergency Operations Center in Tallahassee immediately put response measures into place to support the efforts of local emergency responders following the landfall of Hurricane Wilma.
October 24, 2005
News Release
WASHINGTON, D.C. -- The head of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today that federal disaster aid has been made available for Florida to help people and community's recovery efforts in the area struck by Hurricane Wilma beginning on October 23, 2005, and continuing.
October 24, 2005
News Release
Following is a summary of key federal disaster aid programs that can be made available as needed and warranted under President Bush's major disaster declaration issued for Florida . Assistance for Affected Individuals and Families Can Include as Required :


Main Content

State/Tribal Government: 
Back to Top