New York Severe Storms and Flooding (DR-1589)

Incident period: April 2, 2005 to April 4, 2005
Major Disaster Declaration declared on April 19, 2005

Updates and Articles, Blogs, and News Releases

April 26, 2005
News Release
ALBANY, N.Y. -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the State Emergency Management Office (SEMO) have announced that two Disaster Recovery Centers will open this Wednesday to serve those affected by the spring storms and flooding that occurred April 2-4, 2005.
April 25, 2005
News Release
ALBANY, N.Y. -- A toll-free application telephone number is now operational for those who suffered property damage or loss in the declared counties affected by the flooding of April 2-4. In response to a request from Governor Pataki, President Bush signed a major disaster declaration on April 19. The declaration designated the counties of Broome, Chenango, Cortland, Delaware, Orange, Rensselaer, Schenectady, Schoharie, Sullivan, Tioga, and Ulster eligible for federal aid to help meet the recovery needs of stricken residents and business owners.
April 19, 2005
News Release
» Federal Aid Programs For New York Disaster Recovery WASHINGTON, D.C. -- The head of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today that President Bush has ordered the release of federal disaster funds for New York to help meet the recovery needs of people and communities in the area struck by floods earlier this month.


Back to Top