Main Content

News: Kansas Severe Winter Storms, Heavy Rains, and Flooding

February 22, 2005
News Release
EMPORIA, Kan. -- Six additional counties have been added to the disaster declaration for public assistance to include aid for local governments affected by the severe winter storms that occurred between January 4 and January 6 in Kansas, federal officials announced today. The six counties now eligible to apply for all categories of public assistance are: Brown, Jackson, Kiowa, Leavenworth, McPherson, and Pottawatomie.
February 9, 2005
News Release
WASHINGTON, D.C. ? The head of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today that federal disaster funds have been made available for Kansas to help communities recover from the effects of the winter storms that struck the state in early January.