Kansas Severe Winter Storms, Heavy Rains, and Flooding (DR-1579)

Incident period: January 4, 2005 to January 6, 2005
Major Disaster Declaration declared on February 8, 2005

Updates and Articles, Blogs, and News Releases

February 22, 2005
News Release
EMPORIA, Kan. -- Six additional counties have been added to the disaster declaration for public assistance to include aid for local governments affected by the severe winter storms that occurred between January 4 and January 6 in Kansas, federal officials announced today. The six counties now eligible to apply for all categories of public assistance are: Brown, Jackson, Kiowa, Leavenworth, McPherson, and Pottawatomie.
February 9, 2005
News Release
WASHINGTON, D.C. ? The head of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today that federal disaster funds have been made available for Kansas to help communities recover from the effects of the winter storms that struck the state in early January.
Main Content

State/Tribal Government: 
Back to Top