Puerto Rico Tropical Storm Jeanne and Resulting Landslides and Mudslides (DR-1552)

Incident period: September 14, 2004 to September 19, 2004
Major Disaster Declaration declared on September 17, 2004

Updates and Articles, Blogs, and News Releases

September 28, 2004
News Release
San Juan, P.R. -- Federal and Commonwealth officials announced today the opening of the first four Disaster Recovery Centers (DRC), to assist those affected by Tropical Storm Jeanne in the 56 federally declared municipalities. The centers will be open daily from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m., until further notice. Disaster victims are urged to register for assistance first by calling 1-800-621-3362. The TTY number is 1﷓800﷓462﷓7585 for those who are speech- or hearing-impaired.
September 27, 2004
News Release
San Juan, P.R. -- Federal and Commonwealth disaster officials urge individuals holding an active flood insurance policy to contact their insurance agent or company before filing for disaster assistance from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).
September 18, 2004
News Release
SAN JUAN, P.R. -- Federal disaster officials have informed that the presidential disaster declaration granted to Puerto Rico is mainly to supplement emergency response efforts carried out by Commonwealth and municipal governments in the aftermath of Tropical Storm Jeanne. On September 14, 2004 this storm caused extensive rains resulting in landslides and mudslides.
September 18, 2004
News Release
WASHINGTON, D.C. -- The head of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today that President Bush has authorized the release of federal disaster funds for Puerto Rico to help support immediate response efforts for Tropical Storm Jeanne. Michael D. Brown, Under Secretary of Homeland Security for Emergency Preparedness and Response, said the President took the action under a major disaster declaration issued for the effects of landslides and mudslides caused by the storm that began affecting the commonwealth on September 14.


Main Content

State/Tribal Government: 
Back to Top