Iowa Severe Storms, Tornadoes, and Flooding (DR-1518)

Incident period: May 19, 2004 to June 24, 2004
Major Disaster Declaration declared on May 25, 2004

Updates and Articles, Blogs, and News Releases

May 28, 2004
News Release
DES MOINES, Iowa -- Understanding the steps of the federal/state recovery process can help people reduce the confusion brought on by disaster, sort out the information available, and make the decisions required to begin rebuilding lives. The first step is to register for assistance with the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) (or TTY 1-800-462-7585) between 7 a.m. and 7 p.m., CDT, seven days a week until further notice.
May 27, 2004
News Release
URBANDALE, Iowa -- The U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Iowa Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management (HLSEM) will open a Disaster Recovery Center (DRC) in Humboldt County. In an effort to speed assistance to Iowa residents affected by the recent severe storms, flooding and tornadoes, the DRC will open Friday, May 28 at 1 p.m. It will be located at:
May 26, 2004
News Release
Following is a summary of key federal disaster aid programs that can be made available as needed and warranted under President Bush’s major disaster declaration issued for Iowa on May 25, 2004. Assistance for Affected Individuals and Families Can Include as Required:
May 26, 2004
News Release
» Fact Sheet WASHINGTON, D.C. -- Federal disaster funds have been authorized by President Bush to help meet the recovery needs of Iowa families and businesses victimized by tornadoes, floods and other extreme weather conditions, according to the head of the U. S. Department of Homeland Security?s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).


Main Content


State/Tribal Government: 
Back to Top