Main Content

Initial Notice

Date of Notice: 
Wednesday, June 19, 2002
Billing Code 6718-02P



Iowa; Major Disaster and Related Determinations

AGENCY:	Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

ACTION:	Notice.

SUMMARY: This is a notice of the Presidential 
declaration of a major disaster for the State of 
Iowa (FEMA-1420-DR), dated June 19, 2002, and related 

EFFECTIVE DATE: June 19, 2002.

Readiness, Response and Recovery Directorate, 
Federal Emergency Management Agency, Washington, 
DC 20472, (202) 646-2705 or

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION: Notice is hereby given 
that, in a letter dated June 19, 2002, the President 
declared a major disaster under the authority of the 
Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency 
Assistance Act, 42 U.S.C. ?? 5121-5206 (Stafford Act), 
as follows:

I have determined that the damage in certain areas of 
the State of Iowa, resulting from severe storms and 
flooding beginning June 3, 2002, and continuing, is of 
sufficient severity and magnitude to warrant a major 
disaster declaration under the Robert T. Stafford Disaster 
Relief and Emergency Assistance Act, 42 U.S.C. ?? 5121-5206 
(Stafford Act).  I, therefore, declare that such a major 
disaster exists in the State of Iowa.

In order to provide Federal assistance, you are hereby 
authorized to allocate from funds available for these 
purposes, such amounts as you find necessary for Federal 
disaster assistance and administrative expenses.

You are authorized to provide Individual Assistance and 
Public Assistance in the designated areas, and Hazard 
Mitigation throughout the State, and any other forms of 
assistance under the Stafford Act you may deem appropriate.  
Consistent with the requirement that Federal assistance be 
supplemental, any Federal funds provided under the Stafford 
Act for Public Assistance, Hazard Mitigation, and the 
Individual and Family Grant program will be limited to 75 
percent of the total eligible costs.

Further, you are authorized to make changes to this 
declaration to the extent allowable under the Stafford Act.

	The time period prescribed for the implementation of 
	section 310(a), Priority to Certain Applications for 
	Public Facility and Public Housing Assistance, 42 U.S.C. 
	5153, shall be for a period not to exceed six months after 
	the date of this declaration.
	Notice is hereby given that pursuant to the authority 
	vested in the Director of the Federal Emergency Management 
	Agency under Executive Order 12148, I hereby appoint Scott 
	Wells of the Federal Emergency Management Agency to act as 
	the Federal Coordinating Officer for this declared disaster.
	I do hereby determine the following areas of the State of 
	Iowa to have been affected adversely by this declared major 
Allamakee, Benton, Buchanan, Cedar, Clayton, Clinton, Delaware, 
Dubuque, Fayette, Iowa, Jackson, Johnson, Jones, Linn, Muscatine, 
Scott, and Winneshiek Counties for Individual Assistance.

Clayton, Clinton, Delaware, Dubuque, Jackson, Jones and Linn 
Counties for Public Assistance.

	All counties within the State of Iowa are eligible to 
	apply for assistance under the Hazard Mitigation Grant 
(The following Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance Numbers
(CFDA) are to be used for reporting and drawing funds: 83.537, 
Community Disaster Loans; 83.538, Cora Brown Fund Program; 
83.539, Crisis Counseling; 83.540, Disaster Legal Services 
Program; 83.541, Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA); 83.542, 
Fire Suppression Assistance; 83.543, Individual and Family 
Grant (IFG) Program; 83.544, Public Assistance Grants; 83.545, 
Disaster Housing Program; 83.548, Hazard Mitigation Grant Program.)

Joe M. Allbaugh,

Last Updated: 
07/17/2012 - 00:08