New York Earthquake (DR-1415)

Incident period: April 20, 2002
Major Disaster Declaration declared on May 16, 2002

Updates and Articles, Blogs, and News Releases

May 21, 2002
News Release
Albany, NY -- The first checks were mailed today to 118 victims of the April 20 Ausable Forks earthquake, just days after President Bush designated Clinton and Essex counties eligible for federal disaster assistance. Almost $133,000 was distributed to help individuals whose homes were damaged in the 5.3 quake.
May 16, 2002
News Release
Washington, DC -- Federal disaster aid was made available today for people in Clinton and Essex counties affected by the recent earthquake under a major disaster declaration issued for New York State by President Bush, according to the head of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).


Main Content

State/Tribal Government: 
Back to Top