Main Content

Initial Notice

Main Content
Date of Notice: 
Tuesday, May 7, 2002
Billing Code 6718-02P



Kentucky; Major Disaster and Related Determinations

AGENCY:	Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

ACTION:	Notice.

SUMMARY: This is a notice of the Presidential declaration 
of a major disaster for the Commonwealth of Kentucky 
(FEMA-1414-DR), dated May 7, 2002, and related determinations.

EFFECTIVE DATE: May 7, 2002.

Response and Recovery Directorate, Federal Emergency
Management Agency, Washington, DC 20472, (202) 646-2705 or

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION: Notice is hereby given that, in a 
letter dated May 7, 2002, the President declared a major 
disaster under the authority of the Robert T. Stafford Disaster 
Relief and Emergency Assistance Act, 42 U.S.C. ?? 5121-5206 
(the Stafford Act), as follows:

I have determined that the damage in certain areas of the 
Commonwealth of Kentucky resulting from severe storms, tornadoes, 
and flooding on April 27, 2002, and continuing, is of sufficient 
severity and magnitude to warrant a major disaster declaration 
under the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance 
Act, 42 U.S.C. ?? 5121-5206 (Stafford Act).  I, therefore, declare 
that such a major disaster exists in the Commonwealth of Kentucky.

In order to provide Federal assistance, you are hereby authorized 
to allocate from funds available for these purposes, such amounts 
as you find necessary for Federal disaster assistance and 
administrative expenses.

You are authorized to provide Individual Assistance in the designated 
areas, and any other forms of assistance under the Stafford Act 
you may deem appropriate.  Consistent with the requirement that 
Federal assistance be supplemental, any Federal funds provided 
under the Stafford Act for the Individual and Family Grant program 
will be limited to 75 percent of the total eligible costs.  If Public 
Assistance and/or Hazard Mitigation is later requested and warranted, 
Federal funds provided under those programs will also be limited to 
75 percent of the total eligible costs. 

Further, you are authorized to make changes to this declaration to 
the extent allowable under the Stafford Act.

	The time period prescribed for the implementation of section 
	310(a), Priority to Certain Applications for Public Facility 
	and Public Housing Assistance, 42 U.S.C. 5153, shall be for 
	a period not to exceed six months after the date of this 
	Notice is hereby given that pursuant to the authority vested 
	in the Director of the Federal Emergency Management Agency 
	under Executive Order 12148, I hereby appoint Michael Bolch 
	of the Federal Emergency Management Agency to act as the 
	Federal Coordinating Officer for this declared disaster.
	I do hereby determine the following areas of the Commonwealth 
	of Kentucky to have been affected adversely by this declared 
	major disaster:
        Breckinridge, Crittenden, Grayson, Hancock, Hardin, Henderson, 
	Hopkins, McLean, Meade, Ohio, Union, and Webster Counties for 
	Individual Assistance.

(The following Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance Numbers (CFDA) are to 
be used for reporting and drawing funds: 83.537, Community Disaster Loans; 
83.538, Cora Brown Fund Program; 83.539, Crisis Counseling; 83.540, Disaster 
Legal Services Program; 83.541, Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA); 83.542, 
Fire Suppression Assistance; 83.543, Individual and Family Grant (IFG) Program; 
83.544, Public Assistance Grants; 83.545, Disaster Housing Program; 83.548, 
Hazard Mitigation Grant Program.)

Joe M. Allbaugh,

Last Updated: 
07/17/2012 - 00:08
Back to Top