Initial Notice

Main Content
Date of Notice: 
Wednesday, February 6, 2002
Billing Code 6718-02P



Missouri; Major Disaster and Related Determinations

AGENCY: Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

ACTION: Notice.

SUMMARY:  This is a notice of the Presidential declaration 
of a major disaster for the State of Missouri (FEMA-1403-DR), 
dated February 6, 2002, and related determinations.

EFFECTIVE DATE:  February 6, 2002.

Response and Recovery Directorate, Federal Emergency
Management Agency, Washington, DC 20472, (202) 646-2705 

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION:  Notice is hereby given that, 
in a letter dated February 6, 2002, the President declared 
a major disaster under the authority of the Robert T. Stafford 
Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act, 42 U.S.C. ?? 
5121-5206 (the Stafford Act), as follows:

I have determined that the damage in certain areas of the 
State of Missouri, resulting from a severe winter ice storm 
on January 29, 2002, and continuing is of sufficient severity 
and magnitude to warrant a major disaster declaration under 
the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance 
Act, 42 U.S.C. ?? 5121-5206 (the Stafford Act).  I, therefore, 
declare that such a major disaster exists in the State of Missouri.

In order to provide Federal assistance, you are hereby authorized 
to allocate from funds available for these purposes, such amounts 
as you find necessary for Federal disaster assistance and 
administrative expenses.

You are authorized to provide Individual Assistance and Public 
Assistance in the designated areas, and Hazard Mitigation 
throughout the State. Consistent with the requirement that Federal
assistance be supplemental, any Federal funds provided under the 
Stafford Act for Public Assistance or Hazard Mitigation will be 
limited to 75 percent of the total eligible costs.  

Further, you are authorized to make changes to this declaration 
to the extent allowable under the Stafford Act.

  The time period prescribed for the implementation of section 
  310(a), Priority to Certain Applications for Public Facility 
  and Public Housing Assistance, 42 U.S.C. 5153, shall be for 
  a period not to exceed six months after the date of this 
  Notice is hereby given that pursuant to the authority vested 
  in the Director of the Federal Emergency Management Agency 
  under Executive Order 12148, I hereby appoint William Lokey 
  of the Federal Emergency Management Agency to act as the 
  Federal Coordinating Officer for this declared disaster.
  I do hereby determine the following areas of the State of 
  Missouri to have been affected adversely by this declared 
  major disaster:
Adair, Audrain, Bates, Benton, Boone, Buchanan, Caldwell, 
Carroll, Cass, Chariton, Clay, Clinton, Cooper, Grundy, Henry, 
Howard, Jackson, Johnson, Lafayette, Linn, Livingston, Macon, 
Monroe, Morgan, Pettis, Platte, Randolph, Ray, Saline, Shelby, 
St. Clair, Sullivan, and Vernon Counties for Individual Assistance.

Bates, Carroll, Cass, Clay, Howard, Jackson, Johnson, Lafayette, 
Linn, Pettis, Platte, Randolph, Ray and Saline Counties for 
Public Assistance.

  All counties within the State of Missouri are eligible to 
  apply for assistance under the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program.

(The following Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance Numbers
(CFDA) are to be used for reporting and drawing funds: 83.537, 
Community Disaster Loans; 83.538, Cora Brown Fund Program; 
83.539, Crisis Counseling; 83.540, Disaster Legal Services 
Program; 83.541, Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA); 
83.542, Fire Suppression Assistance; 83.543, Individual and 
Family Grant (IFG) Program; 83.544, Public Assistance Grants; 
83.545, Disaster Housing Program; 83.548, Hazard Mitigation 
Grant Program.)

Last Updated: 
07/17/2012 - 00:08
Back to Top