Main Content

Initial Notice

Date of Notice: 
Thursday, June 21, 2001
Billing Code 6718-02P



Mississippi; Major Disaster and Related Determinations

AGENCY:  Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

ACTION:  Notice.

SUMMARY:  This is a notice of the Presidential declaration 
of a major disaster for the State of Mississippi 
(FEMA-1382-DR), dated June 21, 2001, and related 

EFFECTIVE DATE:  June 21, 2001

Response and Recovery Directorate, Federal Emergency 
Management Agency, Washington, DC 20472, (202) 646-5920.

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION:  Notice is hereby given that, 
in a letter dated June 21, 2001, the President declared 
a major disaster under the authority of the Robert T. 
Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act,
42 USC 5121, as follows:

	I have determined that the damage in certain  
	areas of the State of  Mississippi, resulting 
	from Tropical  Storm  Allison  on  June 6-13,
	2001, is of sufficient severity and magnitude
	to warrant a major disaster declaration under
	the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and 
	Emergency Assistance Act, 42 USC 5121 (Stafford 
	Act). I, therefore, declare that such a major 
	disaster exists in the State of Mississippi.

	In order to provide Federal assistance, you 
	are hereby authorized to allocate from funds
	available for these purposes, such amounts as
	you find necessary for Federal disaster 
	assistance and administrative expenses.
	You are authorized to provide Public Assistance 
	in the designated areas, Hazard Mitigation
	throughout the State, and any other forms of
	assistance under the Stafford Act you may deem
	appropriate. Consistent with the requirement 
	that Federal assistance be supplemental, any 
	Federal funds provided under the Stafford Act 
	for Public  Assistance or  Hazard  Mitigation
	will be limited to 75 percent of the total 
	eligible costs.

	Further, you are authorized to make changes 
	to this declaration to the extent allowable
	under the Stafford Act.

Notice is hereby given that pursuant to the authority 
vested in the Director of the Federal Emergency Management
Agency under Executive Order 12148, I hereby appoint 
David J. Fukutomi of the Federal Emergency Management 
Agency to act as the Federal Coordinating Officer for 
this declared disaster.

I do hereby determine the following areas of the State
of Mississippi to have been affected adversely by this 
declared major disaster:

	George, Hancock, Harrison, Jackson, and 
	Pearl River Counties for Public Assistance.

	All counties within the State of Mississippi
	are eligible to apply for assistance under 
	the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program.

(The following Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance
Numbers (CFDA) are to be used for reporting and drawing 
funds: 83.537, Community Disaster Loans; 83.538, Cora 
Brown Fund Program; 83.539, Crisis Counseling; 83.540, 
Disaster Legal Services Program; 83.541, Disaster 
Unemployment Assistance (DUA); 83.542, Fire Suppression 
Assistance; 83.543, Individual and Family Grant (IFG) 
Program; 83.544, Public Assistance Grants; 83.545, 
Disaster Housing Program; 83.548, Hazard Mitigation 
Grant Program.)

Joe M. Allbaugh,

Last Updated: 
07/17/2012 - 00:08