Main Content

Initial Notice

Date of Notice: 
Tuesday, May 8, 2001
Billing Code 6718-02P



Nebraska; Major Disaster and Related Determinations

AGENCY:	Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

ACTION:	Notice.

SUMMARY:  This is a notice of the Presidential declaration of 
a major disaster for the State of Nebraska (FEMA-1373-DR), 
dated May 16, 2001, and related determinations.

EFFECTIVE DATE:  May 16, 2001

Recovery Directorate, Federal Emergency Management Agency, 
Washington, DC 20472, (202) 646-3772.

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION:  Notice is hereby given that, 
in a letter dated May 16, 2001, the President declared a 
major disaster under the authority of the Robert T. Stafford 
Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act, 42 USC 5121, 
as follows:

	I have determined that the damage in certain areas of the 
	State of Nebraska, resulting from severe winter storms, 
	flooding, and tornadoes on April 10-23, 2001, is of 
	sufficient severity and magnitude to warrant a major 
	disaster declaration under the Robert T. Stafford 
	Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act, 42 USC 5121 
	(Stafford Act). I, therefore, declare that such a major 
	disaster exists in the State of Nebraska.

	In order to provide Federal assistance, you are hereby 
	authorized to allocate from funds available for these 
	purposes, such amounts as you find necessary for Federal 
	disaster assistance and administrative expenses.

	You are authorized to provide Public Assistance in the 
	designated areas, Hazard Mitigation throughout the State, 
	and any other forms of assistance under the Stafford Act 
	you may deem appropriate. Consistent with the requirement 
	that Federal assistance be supplemental, any Federal funds 
	provided under the Stafford Act for Public  Assistance  
	or  Hazard  Mitigation will be limited to 75 percent of 
	the total eligible costs.

	Further, you are authorized to make changes to this 
	declaration to the extent allowable under the Stafford Act.

Notice is hereby given that pursuant to the authority vested in 
the Director of the Federal Emergency Management Agency under 
Executive Order 12148, I hereby appoint Carlos Mitchell of the 
Federal Emergency Management Agency to act as the Federal 
Coordinating Officer for this declared disaster.

I do hereby determine the following areas of the State of Nebraska 
to have been affected adversely by this declared major disaster:

	Banner, Blaine, Box Butte, Brown, Chase, Cherry, Cheyenne, 
	Deuel, Gage, Garden, Hayes, Hooker, Johnson, Keith, Keya 
	Paha, Kimball, Lincoln, Logan, McPherson, Morrill, Nuckolls, 
	Perkins, Rock, Saline, Sioux, and Thomas counties for Public 

	All counties within the State of Nebraska are eligible to 
	apply for assistance under the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program.

(The following Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance Numbers (CFDA) 
are to be used for reporting and drawing funds: 83.537, Community 
Disaster Loans; 83.538, Cora Brown Fund Program; 83.539, Crisis 
Counseling; 83.540, Disaster Legal Services Program; 83.541, Disaster 
Unemployment Assistance (DUA); 83.542, Fire Suppression Assistance; 
83.543, Individual and Family Grant (IFG) Program; 83.544, Public 
Assistance Grants; 83.545, Disaster Housing Program; 83.548, Hazard 
Mitigation Grant Program.)

Joe M. Allbaugh,

Last Updated: 
07/17/2012 - 00:08