Wisconsin Flooding (DR-1369)

Incident period: April 10, 2001 to July 6, 2001
Major Disaster Declaration declared on May 11, 2001

Updates and Articles, Blogs, and News Releases

July 26, 2001
News Release
West Salem, WI -- Federal and state disaster recovery programs have disbursed nearly $13.5 million dollars to date to individuals and government entities located in the State of Wisconsin. President Bush's May 11, disaster declaration made residents and business owners in 18 counties eligible for disaster assistance. Units of government in 32 counties affected by flooding and tornadoes also received grant funds. The breakdown is as follows:
July 17, 2001
News Release
West Salem, WI -- The Disaster Recovery Center operated by The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and Wisconsin Emergency Management (WEM) will be closing Friday, July 20, 2001. The center, located at the Siren High School, 24002 Fourth Avenue, is set up for homeowners affected by recent storms, flooding or tornadoes from April 10, 2001 through July 6, 2001, to talk face to face with FEMA about any concerns or questions they may have regarding their application for disaster assistance. They must call FEMA's disaster hotline at 1-- 800--462--9029 before coming to the center.
July 6, 2001
News Release
West Salem, WI -- After a disaster strikes, seeking financial assistance can seem confusing. There's often a lot of paperwork to do and questions to answer about insurance coverage and income, to determine what help is available for uninsured or underinsured losses. If you live in one of the declared counties, the first step in registering for assistance is to call the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) toll--free at 1--800--462--9029.
July 6, 2001
News Release
West Salem, WI -- Disaster assistance for Barron County has been expanded to include aid for homeowners, renters and businesses affected by the recent storms and flooding in Wisconsin, the head of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today.
July 5, 2001
News Release
West Salem, WI -- Federal disaster funds have been made available for six additional Wisconsin counties to help local governments rebuild public property damaged by the recent severe storms, the head of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today. The counties are Adams, Chippewa, Dunn, Jackson, Juneau and Taylor, bringing the number of eligible Wisconsin counties to 31. FEMA Director Joe M. Allbaugh said the assistance was approved following a review of damage data gathered by federal and state disaster recovery officials.
July 3, 2001
News Release
West Salem, WI -- Homeowners, renters and business owners, whose property was damaged by the recent severe storm or tornado, will be able to get personal help from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) Disaster Assistance Program. "In times of disaster, the SBA functions as the nation's bank to help people recover from uninsured losses," said Travis Brown, SBA field operations officer. The SBA provides this help through its low--interest disaster loan program.


Main Content
Photo of Tom Davies, Lewis Taylor and Gloria E. Benjamin.

Hertel, WI, July 17, 2001 -- FEMA Federal Coordinating Officer Tom Davies (right) presents certificate of appreciation to the St. Croix Chippewa Indians of Wisconsin for outstanding emergency response and recovery efforts following the F3 tornado that hit northwestern Wisconsin on June 18, 2001. Accepting the certificate at the St. Croix Tribal Center are Lewis Taylor, St. Croix Tribal Representative, and Gloria E. Benjamin, St. Croix Council Member-elect.

Photo by Dana Trytten/ FEMA News Photo

» Wisconsin Flooding Photographs

State/Tribal Government: 
Back to Top