Main Content

Initial Notice

Main Content
Date of Notice: 
Friday, March 16, 2001
Billing Code 6718-02P



Arkansas; Major Disaster and Related Determinations

AGENCY:  Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

ACTION:  Notice.

SUMMARY:  This is a notice of the Presidential declaration
of a major disaster for the State of Arkansas (FEMA-1363-DR),
dated March 13, 2001, and related determinations.

EFFECTIVE DATE:  March 13, 2001

Recovery Directorate, Federal Emergency Management Agency,
Washington, DC 20472, (202) 646-3772.

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION:  Notice is hereby given that in 
a letter dated March 13, 2001, the President declared a 
major disaster under the authority of the Robert T. Stafford
Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act, 42 USC 5121,
as follows:

	I have determined that the damage in certain 
	areas of the State of Arkansas, resulting from 
	severe storms and flooding on February 14, 2001
	and continuing, is of sufficient severity and 
	magnitude to warrant a major disaster declaration
	under the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and 
	Emergency Assistance Act, 42 USC 5121 (Stafford 
	Act). I, therefore, declare that such a major
	disaster exists in the State of Arkansas.

	In order to provide Federal assistance, you are 
	hereby authorized to allocate from funds available
	for these purposes, such amounts as you find 
	necessary for Federal disaster assistance and
	administrative expenses.

	You are authorized to provide Public Assistance 
	and Hazard Mitigation in the designated areas and
	any other forms of assistance under the Stafford
	Act you may deem appropriate. Consistent with
	the requirement that Federal assistance be 
	supplemental, any Federal funds provided under 
	the Stafford Act for Public Assistance or Hazard 
	Mitigation will be limited to 75 percent of the 
	total eligible costs.

	Further, you are authorized to make changes to 
	this declaration to the extent allowable under 
	the Stafford Act.

Notice is hereby given that pursuant to the authority vested
in the Director of the Federal Emergency Management Agency 
under Executive Order 12148, I hereby appoint Joe Bray of the 
Federal Emergency Management Agency to act as the Federal 
Coordinating Officer for this declared disaster.

I do hereby determine the following areas of the State of 
Arkansas to have been affected adversely by this declared 
major disaster:

	Bradley, Clark, Columbia, Drew, Franklin, 
	Hempstead, Hot Spring, Lincoln, Miller, 
	Nevada, Prairie, Union, and White Counties 
	for Public Assistance. 

	All counties within the State of Arkansas 
	are eligible to apply for assistance under 
	the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program.

(The following Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance Numbers
(CFDA) are to be used for reporting and drawing funds: 83.537,
Community Disaster Loans; 83.538, Cora Brown Fund Program; 
83.539, Crisis Counseling; 83.540, Disaster Legal Services 
Program; 83.541, Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA); 
83.542, Fire Suppression Assistance; 83.543, Individual and 
Family Grant (IFG) Program; 83.544, Public Assistance Grants; 
83.545, Disaster Housing Program; 83.548, Hazard Mitigation 
Grant Program.)

Joe M. Allbaugh,

Last Updated: 
07/17/2012 - 00:08
Back to Top