Tennessee Severe Storms, Tornadoes And Flooding (DR-1331)

Incident period: May 23, 2000 to May 31, 2000
Major Disaster Declaration declared on June 12, 2000

Updates and Articles, Blogs, and News Releases

June 20, 2000
News Release
Nashville, TN -- Weakley County was added today by federal and state disaster officials to the 14 widespread Tennessee counties already declared eligible for federal assistance as a result of May storms. Counties that can receive federal money covering 75 percent of the costs to clear debris and make repairs to damaged public properties such as roadways, bridges, public buildings and municipal utilities are: Anderson, Benton, Cheatham, Davidson, Henry, Hickman, Houston, Knox, Jackson, Lake, Obion, Perry, Pickett, Steward, and Weakley.
June 13, 2000
News Release
Washington, DC -- Federal disaster funds were made available today to help communities in 14 Tennessee counties recover from the effects of spring storms and other extreme weather that struck the state late last month, according to the head of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). FEMA Director James Lee Witt said the aid was authorized under a major disaster declaration issued for the state by President Clinton late this afternoon. The declaration covers damage to public property from severe storms, tornadoes and flooding that occurred over the period of May 23-31.
Back to Top