New York Hurricane Floyd (DR-1296)

Incident period: September 16, 1999 to September 18, 1999
Major Disaster Declaration declared on September 19, 1999

Updates and Articles, Blogs, and News Releases

December 6, 1999
News Release
ALBANY, N.Y. -- Friday, Dec. 17, is the last day for homeowners, renters and business owners who had damage as a result of Tropical Storm Floyd in September in 11 New York counties to apply for disaster assistance, according to Federal Coordinating Officer Marianne C. Jackson and State Coordinating Officer Edward F. Jacoby, Jr. As the request of Gov. George E. Pataki, Albany, Dutchess, Essex, Greene, Orange, Putnam, Rensselaer, Rockland, Schenectady, Ulster and Westchester counties were declared disaster areas by President Clinton following Tropical Storm Floyd in September.
November 17, 1999
News Release
ALBANY, N.Y. -- Operating hours for the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) toll free registration line and the disaster information Helpline are changing as of Monday, November 22. According to Marianne C. Jackson, federal coordinating officer for New York, both lines will be available from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., Monday through Saturday, but will be closed on Sunday. In addition, the lines will not be in operation on Thanksgiving, November 25, but will reopen on Friday, November 26.
November 12, 1999
News Release
ALBANY, N.Y. -- The deadline for New Yorkers to apply for federal/state assistance in the wake of Tropical Storm Floyd has been extended to December 17. Officials of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) in Washington approved the deadline extension this afternoon, following a request from Gov. George E. Pataki.
October 28, 1999
News Release
ALBANY, N.Y. -- Nassau and Suffolk counties are now are eligible to apply for state and federal disaster assistance to help pay for debris and emergency protective services and to help repair or replace infrastructure damaged by Tropical Storm Floyd, disaster recovery officials announced today. Deputy Federal Coordinating Officer Jerry Dobinson designated the two counties eligible for the Public Assistance Program following a review of additional information regarding emergency activities and damages that occurred during the storm.
October 22, 1999
News Release
ALBANY, N.Y. -- Three FEMA/New York State Disaster Recovery Centers, which have been bringing face-to-face information to victims of Tropical Storm Floyd in Rockland, Putnam and Westchester counties will close by Oct. 30. Disaster assistance applicants will still be able get information about their application through the FEMA Disaster Assistance HELPLINE: 1-800-525-0321. The centers have been operating from several locations in the counties since Oct. 1. The schedule for the final week of operation is as follows:
October 19, 1999
News Release
ALBANY, N.Y. -- Two Disaster Recovery Centers will open Thursday for three days to help victims of Tropical Storm Floyd, state and federal emergency officials said today. In Westchester County, a new center will open at the Fairview Greenburgh Community Center, Second Level, 32 Manhattan Avenue, White Plains. In Rockland County, the center is opening at Town Hall #2, 10 Maple Avenue, New City. Both centers will be open from 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Thursday through Saturday, October 21-23.


Main Content

» New York State Emergency Management Office

Photo of a Project Impact stand at Home Depot Newburgh, NY, November 7, 1999 -- FEMA hazard mitigation experts take the message to the people at the Home Depot store in Newburgh, New York.

State/Tribal Government: 
Back to Top