Pennsylvania Hurricane Floyd (DR-1294)

Incident period: September 16, 1999 to September 29, 1999
Major Disaster Declaration declared on September 18, 1999

Updates and Articles, Blogs, and News Releases

September 29, 1999
News Release
HARRISBURG, Pa. -- All categories of Public Assistance funding from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) are now available to Philadelphia, Bucks, Chester, Delaware and Montgomery counties. The change announced by Federal Coordinating Officer Jack Schuback covers repair or replacement of damaged facilities such as buildings, utilities, roads and bridges, water control facilities and recreational facilities.
September 28, 1999
News Release
HARRISBURG, Pa. -- If flooding from Hurricane Floyd put you out of work, you may be eligible for disaster unemployment assistance. Self-employed and unemployed workers in Philadelphia, Bucks, Chester, Delaware, Montgomery, Lancaster and York counties who are not covered by regular state unemployment insurance programs can apply for this federally funded assistance available under the major disaster declaration by President Clinton.
September 27, 1999
News Release
HARRISBURG, Pa. -- If you received a disaster-loan application from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA), federal and state officials urge you to return your completed forms, even if you do not want a loan.
September 24, 1999
News Release
HARRISBURG, Pa. --, September 24, 1999 - Flood victims should take care when hiring contractors to repair damages from the recent flooding, federal and state officials warned today. President Clinton declared seven Pennsylvania counties federal disaster areas on Sept. 18, following flooding caused by Hurricane Floyd. The declaration made residents of Bucks, Chester, Delaware, Lancaster, Montgomery, Philadelphia and York counties eligible for federal disaster assistance.
September 21, 1999
News Release
HARRISBURG, Pa. -- Take extra precautions when cleaning flood-damaged homes, mobile homes, apartments or businesses, say federal and state disaster officials as residents of seven southeastern Pennsylvania counties continue to clean-up from Hurricane Floyd. Even after their homes have been determined to be structurally safe, people should proceed with caution as they begin to clean up. "The dangers are not over just because the water has receded," said State Coordinating Officer Bob Churchman, of the Pennsylvania Emergency Management Agency (PEMA).
September 20, 1999
News Release
HARRISBURG, Pa. -- Five Disaster Recovery Centers (DRCs) will open at 1 p.m. Wednesday to assist victims of Hurricane Floyd. The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Pennsylvania Emergency Management Agency (PEMA) announced centers will open in the following disaster-declared counties. Bucks County Genuardi's 4200 Neshaminy Blvd. Neshaminy Mall Bensalem Montgomery County Montgomery County Fire Academy 1175 Conshohocken Road Conshohocken Plymouth Township


Back to Top