North Dakota Severe Storms, Tornadoes, Snow and Ice, Flooding, Ground Saturation, Landslides and Mudslides (DR-1279)

Incident period: March 1, 1999 to July 19, 1999
Major Disaster Declaration declared on June 8, 1999

Updates and Articles, Blogs, and News Releases

September 7, 1999
News Release
BISMARCK, N.D. -- The deadline to register for disaster assistance has been extended to Oct. 1 for individuals and business owners in 42 North Dakota counties and four reservations who suffered losses due to severe storms, flooding, tornadoes, snow and ice, ground saturation, landslides and mudslides.
August 25, 1999
News Release
BISMARCK, N.D. -- North Dakota residents who were affected by severe storms, tornadoes, snow and ice, flooding, ground saturation, landslides, and mudslides from March 1 to July 19 have only a short time left to register for federal and state disaster assistance. The deadline for renters, homeowners or business owners to register is September 7.
August 17, 1999
News Release
BISMARCK, N.D. -- The following is a summary of individual assistance distributed in North Dakota since the state received a presidential declaration June 8, 1999.
August 10, 1999
News Release
BISMARCK, N.D. -- State and federal disaster recovery officials advise North Dakota residents who have disaster-related damage to be careful when hiring unknown contractors to clean up and repair their homes and businesses. "Normally residents are familiar with who the local contractors are," said Adjutant General Keith D. Bjerke, state coordinating officer. "In those cases where an unfamiliar firm or face appears, it's best to be cautious, ask questions and get references."
August 6, 1999
News Release
BISMARCK, N.D. -- Additional assistance may be available to reimburse individuals for high electricity bills as a result of running residential sump and water pumps this spring and summer. The North Dakota Division of Emergency Management, and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) have expanded benefits under the Individual Family Grant Program (IFG) to cover the additional costs.
August 2, 1999
News Release
BISMARCK, N.D. -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has a toll-free number that residents of 42 North Dakota counties and four Indian reservations can call to receive information about disaster assistance. Those who have registered for state and federal disaster assistance can call the FEMA Helpline at 1-800-525-0321 to receive information about, or provide updates to, their application. It is important that anyone registered with FEMA provides a current address and phone number if they move.


Back to Top