Colorado Severe Storms, Flooding, Mudslides, and Landslides (DR-1276)

Incident period: April 29, 1999 to May 19, 1999
Major Disaster Declaration declared on May 17, 1999

Updates and Articles, Blogs, and News Releases

May 27, 1999
News Release
COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. -- Pueblo County has been declared eligible for federal disaster assistance programs for renters, homeowners and business owners recovering from severe storms and flooding that began on April 29. "Residents and business owners in Pueblo County who feel they have suffered losses in the recent Colorado flooding should call our toll-free number to register for assistance," said the Federal Coordinating Officer, Scott Logan. "That number is 1-800-462-9029."
May 26, 1999
News Release
COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. -- Nine days after the May 17 Colorado Presidential disaster declaration, nearly $500,000 in disaster housing assistance has been approved for households damaged by severe storms and flooding that began April 29, state and federal disaster recovery officials said today.
May 24, 1999
News Release
DENVER, Colo. -- The State of Colorado Office of Emergency Management and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) launched a variety of assistance programs for victims of the recent Colorado flooding following the major disaster declaration signed by President Bill Clinton on May 17. The declaration for Bent, El Paso, Larimer, Otero and Weld counties came at the request of Governor Bill Owens as a result of extensive flooding along the Arkansas, Big Thompson and South Platte Rivers in eastern Colorado. Following is a summary of the week's activities:
May 21, 1999
News Release
DENVER, Colo. -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and Colorado Department of Emergency Management are opening a Disaster Recovery Center in La Junta at 10 a.m. on Saturday, May 22. The center, located at 215 Raton Avenue in La Junta, Colorado, is open from 10 a.m. - 5 p.m. over the weekend, and 10 a.m. - 7 p.m. Monday-Friday. However, Federal Coordinating Officer Scott Logan emphasized that the first step for people with flood losses is to call FEMA to register for assistance.
May 20, 1999
News Release
WASHINGTON, D.C. -- Preliminary Damage Assessment (PDA) teams of state and federal officials continue their work in Bent, El Paso, Larimar, Otero and Weld counties. Early reports indicate considerable public infrastructure damage also may have occurred in Baca, Crowley, Custer, Fremont, Kiowa, Las Animas, Morgan, Pueblo and Teller counties.
May 17, 1999
News Release
DENVER, Colo. -- Disaster assistance under the Federal Emergency Management Agency's (FEMA) and State of Colorado Public Assistance program for damages to public infrastructure has been made available to 12 Colorado counties, disaster recovery officials announced today. Federal Coordinating Officer Scott Logan of FEMA said, "The Colorado counties of Bent, El Paso, Larimer, Otero, Weld (already designated for Individual Assistance), Crowley, Custer, Elbert, Fremont, Kiowa, Las Animas and Pueblo have been made eligible for disaster assistance under the Public Assistance Program."


Main Content


State/Tribal Government: 
Back to Top