Kansas Severe Storms, Flooding, And Tornadoes (DR-1254)

Incident period: October 1, 1998 to October 8, 1998
Major Disaster Declaration declared on October 14, 1998

Updates and Articles, Blogs, and News Releases

November 2, 1998
News Release
KANSAS CITY, Mo. -- Federal, state, local and voluntary agencies are working in partnership to help residents of Douglas, Johnson, Leavenworth, Seward and Wyandotte counties following the recent severe storms and flooding. The following is a summary of ongoing response and recovery efforts as of Nov. 1, 1998.
October 27, 1998
News Release
KANSAS CITY, Mo. -- In response to Governor Bill Graves' request, three counties were added to President Clinton's disaster declaration of October 14. Assistance available in three counties was expanded.
October 23, 1998
News Release
KANSAS CITY, Mo. -- In the first week since President Clinton declared parts of Missouri and Kansas major disaster areas, nearly $450,000 in disaster assistance has gone out to eligible disaster survivors. In the Missouri counties of Carroll, Clay and Jackson, more than $316,000 in disaster housing checks have already been issued to eligible applicants.
October 15, 1998
News Release
WASHINGTON, D.C. -- The head of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced yesterday that federal disaster aid has been made available for people in three Kansas counties victimized by floods and other extreme weather earlier this month. FEMA Director James Lee Witt said President Clinton authorized the assistance under a major disaster declaration issued late yesterday afternoon. The declaration covers damage from severe storms, tornadoes and flooding that hit the state October 1-8.


Back to Top