Irene Update 42: September 5 Recap

Main Content

President Obama along with Federal, State and Local officials, surveyed flood damages in New Jersey. Tropical Storm Irene created the worst flooding in the area in more than a century.
Paterson, NJ, September 4, 2011 --President Obama along with Federal, State and Local officials, surveyed flood damages in New Jersey. 

The administration, coordinated through FEMA, is committed to bringing all of the resources of the federal family to bear to support the states and territories that have been affected by Hurricane Irene. FEMA, through our regional offices in Boston, MA, Philadelphia, PA, New York City, NY, Atlanta, GA, and our Caribbean Area Office in Puerto Rico, have been in close contact and coordination with the states and territories that have been affected.

President Obama has declared major disaster declarations for the commonwealths and states of North Carolina, New York, New Jersey, Vermont, New Hampshire, Massachusetts, Connecticut, Rhode Island, Pennsylvania and Virginia and the territory of Puerto Rico as well as emergency declarations for North Carolina, Maryland, District of Columbia, Virginia, Delaware, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, New York, Massachusetts, Connecticut, Rhode Island, New Hampshire and Vermont, making available federal resources to support recovery efforts.

The following timeline provides an overview of these and other federal activities, to date, to support these territories, states, families and communities.

Monday, September 5

  • DHS Secretary Janet Napolitano is visiting Connecticut to tour damages from Hurricane Irene and meet with state and local officials including Governor Dannel Malloy and first responders.
  • As of noon today, more than 50,600 disaster survivors across North Carolina, New Jersey, New York, Connecticut, Massachusetts, Vermont and Puerto Rico have registered for assistance.
  • Federal, state, tribal and local personnel continue to work together on preliminary damage assessments in North Carolina, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, New York and Massachusetts. These assessments are designed to give the governor of each state a better picture of damages, and to determine if a request for further federal support is needed. As these efforts continue, additional areas may be added for assistance.
  • More than 400 community relations specialists are in the field in affected states and additional mobilizations and deployments continue. Community relations teams are helping to inform disaster survivors about available services and resources, and continue to gather situational awareness on the impacts of the storm in support of the affected states.
  • In New York, New Jersey, Vermont, North Carolina and Puerto Rico, Disaster Recovery Centers (DRCs) are open, and more centers are scheduled to open soon. DRCs are locations where disaster survivors can meet one-on-one with representatives from federal, state, local and voluntary agencies to learn about disaster assistance programs. Information about DRC locations and hours is available online at Check back regularly, as locations are frequently updated, and hours may change.

See yesterday's blog post for a recap of earlier federal activities.

Last Updated: 
06/18/2012 - 13:59

Add new comment

Back to Top