Laws Applying to Non-Government and Private Sector Organizations

Main Content

The following are the primary Federal disability laws that apply to non-government and private sector organizations.  Receipt of Federal assistance by non-government and private sector organizations carries with it additional nondiscrimination obligations of Federal law.  State and local nondiscrimination laws may also apply.

Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended

  • Section 504 - Programs, Services, and Activities (if Federal financial assistance is received)

Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990

  • Title I - Employment
  • Title III - Public Accommodations, Commercial Facilities, Private Transportation Providers, and Private Testing Entities
  • Title IV - Telecommunications

Fair Housing Act of 1968, as amended

Architectural Barriers Act of 1968 - (if using certain Federal construction dollars)

Communications Act of 1934, as amended

Last Updated: 
07/24/2014 - 16:00
Back to Top