Laws Applying to Recipients of Federal Financial Assistance

Main Content

The following disability-related laws apply to all types of entities that receive Federal financial assistance, regardless of whether they are a governmental agency, a private organization, or a religious entity.  Recipients of Federal financial assistance may also be subject to other laws arising out of their status as state or local agencies, or sub-recipients and grantees of entities that receive Federal dollars, or private entities that provide goods, services, or accommodations to the public.  For example, a private organization that receives Federal Community Development Block Grant funds distributed through a state or local agency is considered a recipient of Federal financial assistance.

Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended

  • Section 504 - Programs, Services, and Activities (if Federal financial assistance is received)

Architectural Barriers Act of 1968 - (if using certain Federal construction dollars)

Last Updated: 
07/24/2014 - 16:00
Back to Top